Friday - July 28

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

New Ballards Branch Bogtrotters

Show 7:00


Friday - August 4

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Mountain Park Old Time Band

Show 7:00


Friday - August 11

No Show

Old Time Fiddlers Convention


Thursday - August 17

Third Thursdays at The Rex

"The Godfather"

Show 7:00


Friday - August 18

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

The Southern Gentlemen

Show 7:00


Saturday - August 19

"Cash Unchained"

A Tribute to Johnny Cash

Show TBA 


Friday - August 25
Blue Ridge Backroads Live
BJ Taylor & Creekside Grass
Show 7:00


Saturday - August 26

Old Camp Meeting at The Rex

The Redeemed Quartet, Logan Smith,

James & Denise Easter

and Jerry Lambert

Show 5:00


Friday - September 1

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Blue 58 Band (Barr & Williams)

Show 7:00


Friday - September 8

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Big Ridge Old Time Band

Show 7:00


Friday - September 15

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Crooked Road Ramblers

Show 7:00


Thursday - September 21

Third Thursdays at The Rex

"Cool Hand Luke"

Show 7:00


Friday & Saturday -

September 22 & 23

RexFest

galaxrexfest.com for more info


Friday - September 29

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Tune Town Old Time Band

Show 7:00


Friday - October 6

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Fisher Peak Timber Rattlers

Show 7:00


Saturday - October 7

Nu-Blue

Rhonda Vincent and The Rage

Show 7:00


Friday - October 13

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Kevin Prater Band

Show 7:00


Thursday - October 19

Third Thursdays at The Rex

"Rocky Horror Picture Show"

Show 7:00


Friday - October 20

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Adam McPeak and Mountain Thunder 

Show 7:00


Saturday - October 21st

Worship For A Cause

Jonathan Miller

Family & Friends

Show 7:00


Friday - October 27

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

White Top Mountain Band

 Show 7:00


Saturday - October 28

Mikie Huffman in Concert

Show 7:00

Ticket prices vary based on the event.  Blue Ridge Back Roads is $5 at the door.  We also accept donations to help with the constant preservation and maintaining of the Rex.  We also sell refreshments as reasonable prices to help you have an enjoyable experience while you're visiting us.  For special events we do sell tickets both at The Rex, and in advance at the Visitor's Center across the street.

Additional Ticket Info

Upcoming Shows

Every Friday night in the City of Galax, Virginia WBRF 98.1 FM sends out 100,000 watts of live old-time and bluegrass music from the stage of the historic Rex Theater into five states and over the World Wide Web.  Listeners may be in Virginia, North Carolina, West Virginia, Tennessee or as far away as Egypt enjoying the traditional music show from the comfort of their own homes, or they may be sitting back in one of the 475 seats at the Rex.  The show is called Blue Ridge Back Roads and thanks to a faithful group of volunteers, it has become the cornerstone for the revitalization of this 70 year old theater.


Now owned and operated by the City of Galax, the Rex continues to expand its offerings with vintage movie nights, Saturday concerts and community plays.  The Rex is also available for special events and many non-profit groups have found it's a great venue for community oriented fundraising.


Historically important and designated landmark on the Crooked Road, the Rex remains the jewel in the crown of the City of Galax.

What's Happening At THE REX

HISTORY IN THE HEART OF THE BLUE RIDGE MOUNTAINS