HISTORY IN THE HEART OF THE BLUE RIDGE MOUNTAINS

Ticket prices vary based on the event.  Blue Ridge Back Roads is $5 at the door.  We also accept donations to help with the constant preservation and maintaining of the Rex.  We also sell refreshments as reasonable prices to help you have an enjoyable experience while you're visiting us.  For special events we do sell tickets both at The Rex, and in advance at the Visitor's Center across the street.

Upcoming Shows

What's Happening At THE REX

​​

Friday - May 26 

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Crooked Road Ramblers

Show 7:00


Friday - June 2

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

True Grass

Show 7:00


Friday - June 9

No Show

HoustonFest at Felts Park


Friday - June 16

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Jeff Michael & New High Country Boys

Show 7:00 


Friday - June 23

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Mountain Park Old Time Band

Show 7:00


Friday - June 30

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Five Mile Mountain Band

Show 7:00


Friday - July 7

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Blended Grass

Show 7:00


Friday - July 14

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

White Top Mountain Band

Show 7:00


Saturday - July 15

Lulu Roman & Jerry Lambert

Show TBA


Friday - July 21

No Show

Smoke on the Mountain


Friday - July 28

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

New Ballards Branch Bogtrotters

Show 7:00


Friday - August 4

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

Mountain Park Old Time Band

Show 7:00


Friday - August 11

No Show

Old Time Fiddlers Convention


Thursday - August 17

Third Thursdays at The Rex

"The Godfather"

Show 7:00


Friday - August 18

Blue Ridge Backroads Live

The Southern Gentlemen

Show 7:00


Saturday - August 19

"Cash Unchained"

A Tribute to Johnny Cash

Show TBA 


Additional Ticket Info

Every Friday night in the City of Galax, Virginia WBRF 98.1 FM sends out 100,000 watts of live old-time and bluegrass music from the stage of the historic Rex Theater into five states and over the World Wide Web.  Listeners may be in Virginia, North Carolina, West Virginia, Tennessee or as far away as Egypt enjoying the traditional music show from the comfort of their own homes, or they may be sitting back in one of the 475 seats at the Rex.  The show is called Blue Ridge Back Roads and thanks to a faithful group of volunteers, it has become the cornerstone for the revitalization of this 70 year old theater.


Now owned and operated by the City of Galax, the Rex continues to expand its offerings with vintage movie nights, Saturday concerts and community plays.  The Rex is also available for special events and many non-profit groups have found it's a great venue for community oriented fundraising.


Historically important and designated landmark on the Crooked Road, the Rex remains the jewel in the crown of the City of Galax.